Can I modify an Existing Curriculum?

Document created by 850073 Support on Mar 7, 2014Last modified by 850073 Support on Jan 24, 2017
Version 3Show Document
  • View in full screen mode
Article Summary

Yes, within the Relias LMS, you may decide you want to modify the curriculum properties such as the warning period or change an annual curriculum to biannual. The important thing to understand about adjusting curriculum properties is that any change you make is forward-looking only. The system is set up to obey the rules of the curriculum as they existed when the user completed a specific training.

 

Article Detail

The important thing to understand about adjusting curriculum properties is that any change you make is forward-looking; The Relias LMS is set up to obey the rules of the curriculum as they existed when the user completed a specific training.

So if Archie completed a course in March 2010 that was set to recur every 365 days when he completed it, and you modify the curriculum to recur every 730 days, The system will not go back and retroactively change her current due date from March 2011 to March 2012. But the next time Archie completes the training, the new due date will be set two years in the future.

Similarly, if you’ve been staggering your initial due dates a 30, 60 and 90 day intervals for your courses, and you suddenly change all of your offsets to 180 days, the system will not go back and recalculate due dates for the learners who are already enrolled in the curriculum. But any new learner who is enrolled in the curriculum would receive the 180 day offset.

Curricula cannot be converted from recurring to non-recurring (or vice versa). In addition, curricula that have learners actively enrolled cannot be unapproved.

If you would like to update users effective immediately, and not wait until the next time they complete the instance, you can unenroll the learner from the curriculum and re-enroll them. This will then issue the new set of rules/modifications upon enrollment.

If you are interested in no longer using a curriculum, you have 2 options. You can delete or inactive it. We highly recommended just inactivating the curriculum instead of deleting it so you can continue to run curriculum reports on it as needed. Keep in mind that either option will not affect course completions. Course completions will always remain on the learners' accounts.

You will first make sure the curriculum is no longer in use. ‘In use’ can mean there are learners enrolled. To check for usage, please go to TRAINING & ENROLLMENT > Curricula & Enrollment. If the value in the 'Enrolled' column is 0, then the course is not in use.

9 people found this helpful

Attachments

    Outcomes