To create and/or edit your Hierarchy, click on “Hierarchy” under the “Users” menu. This will show you the hierarchy, if one has been created, in your site.
If you already have a hierarchy defined in your site, you can click the "arrow" sign next to any folders, or nodes, which have sub-folders in order to expand the list of folders and view the hierarchy in its entirety. You can also export your hierarchy data to excel using the "Export Hierarchy" option available at the top of the Hierarchy. This page will also provide you with the option to expand or collapse the view for each folder using the "Expand" and "Collapse" buttons on this page.
If there is no hierarchy defined in your site, you will see a “flat structure” consisting only of the main level of your organization.
To edit or create your hierarchy, click the “Edit” button on the upper right of the box. You will then be prompted with a box confirming your intention to edit the hierarchy structure.
By entering the Edit area, you will be able to create new folders, rename existing folders, delete folders, and move folders (and users within them) within the hierarchy. The edit hierarchy screen contains the following fields:
New Hierarchy Name – Text field where you type new folder names. It is not used to edit existing folder names. Folder names can contain letters, numbers and special characters, but not the following five characters : | , < >
Add Level – This will create the folder you named in the “New Hierarchy Name” field. Folders are added in alphabetical order and will need to be dragged to the appropriate place. To place a folder under another folder, you will need to click the gray “list” button to the left of the folder name and drag it beneath the parent folder. Be sure to indent the lower folder so that it is nested beneath the higher folder, and not parallel to it.
Remove Folder –Clicking on the "x" button next to the folder deletes/removes the folder and all subfolders directly beneath it. Once deleted, they cannot be recovered. The "x" will only be available once all users are removed from the level and any associated advanced enrollment profiles have been removed. Once the level is free to be deleted, you can click on the "x" to delete the folder, and a warning message will appear to confirm your intention to delete the folder.
Expand/Collapse– These buttons will allow you to expand collapse each level of the hierarchy.
Move/Drag Folders – The tab next to each level will allow you to drag the folder to the appropriate location within the hierarchy
Creating a Hierarchy
If there is not already a hierarchy you will need to create one. Simply follow the directions above to create/edit the top level folder and then proceed to create all of the subfolders. Keep in mind that folders will list in alphabetical order and will need to be dragged to the appropriate place in the hierarchy.
Modifying an Existing Hierarchy
To rename a folder, click the folder name and type the new name into the text field. Once you have modified the name, hit “Enter” on your keyboard and the folder will be renamed. Remember not to use any of the five special characters in the folder name : | , < >
Important Note: Do not forget to rename the matching Department name or other report filter that matches the hierarchy. It is recommended that when you create your hierarchy, you have a matching report filter so modifications to the hierarchy (new folders, changed folder names, deleted folders, etc.) are reflected when running reports.
To move a folder, click and hold onto the “list” tab next to the folder and drag it to the new folder or location within in the hierarchy. If the folder you are moving contains subfolders, those folders will be moved as well. Any users in the folder, or subfolders, will also move with the folder(s) to the new location.
To delete a folder, click on the “x” next to the folder name. Please note that the "x" will only be available once all users are removed from the level and any associated advanced enrollment profiles have been removed. Once the level is free to be deleted, you can click on the "x" to delete the folder, and a warning message will appear to confirm your intention to delete the folder.
If you want to remove a folder but not the subfolders, drag and drop the subfolders to a new location first, then remove the folder.
Adding Users to Hierarchy Levels
To move users into a hierarchy folder go to the main Hierarchy page. From here select the folder that you would like the users in. This will open the User’s panel for the folder.
This will open a popup with all users. Check the box next to all users to be moved and then click add users. From this page you can also search for the user(s) you are looking for. You can sort the users by hierarchy by clicking on the "Hierarchy" column header. This will sort by hierarchy in alphabetical order with unassigned users first.
Removing Users from Hierarchy Levels
To remove users from a hierarchy folder check the box next to their name and click remove.
Assigning a Supervisor within Hierarchy
If you choose, you can assign Supervisors to oversee Learners in a hierarchy folder. When you add a Supervisor to the database or view that Supervisor's User Profile, you can choose what type of authority the Supervisor will have for the assigned Enrollment Level. On the User Profile, you can authorize any combination of the following three permission types:
- User Management - Permits Supervisor to add User Profiles and access the Hierarchy (within assigned Enrollment Levels, or folders)
- Enrollment Management - Permits Supervisor to enroll Learners into, and remove Learners from, courses and events
- Report Management - Permits Supervisor to run Reports on Learner status and activity (most common).
Once you have added the Supervisor's User Profile, you can then assign the Supervisor to a folder in the Hierarchy.
About Supervisor Assignments:
- You can assign one or more Supervisors to any folder or sub-folder in the Hierarchy.
- If you assign a Supervisor to a folder that has sub-folders, the Supervisor is automatically assigned access to those sub-levels. Otherwise, a single Supervisor cannot be assigned to more than one folder.
- Depending on the needs of your organization, it would be possible to assign one Supervisor to oversee one primary, first-tier folder in the Hierarchy, with that primary folder containing all the sub-folders within the organization. The default Hierarchy view when selecting any hierarchy node is to view the "This Level Only" (users assigned to the selected hierarchy and not the users assigned into any sub-folders). If you wish to view the users assigned to the subfolders, you can click the "Include Sub-levels” radio button.
- Supervisors are permitted to add sub-folders and re-name them. They are not permitted to delete folders.
Selecting the Notifications Recipient in a Hierarchy Node
Each folder in your hierarchy may contain one supervisor who is designated as the Notifications Email Recipient. This supervisor will receive curriculum and course warning emails. Warning emails may be sent automatically or via the Warning Email Report. If warning emails are sent automatically, the warning email recipient supervisors will receive a weekly email which will include a listing of all learners in the folder who have overdue or coming due trainings. The email will provide the names of the courses or events which are overdue or coming due. No email will go out if all users are up-to-date or have due dates outside the scope of the warning period. Overdue or coming due trainings for supervisors who are designated as a Warning Email Recipient will be sent to the next level up hierarchy folder supervisor. Warning emails for learners in a hierarchy folder that does not have a supervisor designated as the Warning Email Recipient will not roll up to next level hierarchy folder supervisor.
To designate the warning email recipient for a hierarchy folder:
- Select Hierarchy from the Users menu.
- Click a Hierarchy folder.
- Select a supervisor from the drop-down menu named Notifications Recipient.
- If no names appear in the drop-down menu, either flag a user in the folder as a supervisor or move a user who is already marked as a supervisor into the folder.