Modifying an Existing Curriculum

Document created by 1020812 on Aug 8, 2014Last modified by 2979407 on Feb 8, 2017
Version 11Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Modifying an Existing Curriculum

 

There are three reasons you may want to modify a curriculum: to adjust the basic curriculum properties (such as due date warning period), to add or remove trainings, or to swap one module for another.

 

Modifying Existing Curriculum Properties

Certain curriculum changes are forward-looking, which means they will not automatically affect Learners who are already enrolled into the curriculum.  In order for the changes you are making to affect all Learners, a setting must be enabled within your site.  To enable this setting, you must be logged in as an Administrator. 

 

Click the Settings tab on the navigation bar.  This will default to the Site Properties Settings page.  Scroll down to the section labeled "Miscellaneous Site Settings" and look for the "Allow changes to curriculum properties to affect all enrolled Learners." 

 

miscellaneoussitesettings.jpg

Check this box, and click Save at the top of the screen.  This means that any changes you make to your curricula will affect all currently enrolled Learners.  If this box is not checked, any changes you make to your curricula will only affect Learners who are enrolled after the changes are made.

 

For example, if John Doe completed a course in March 2014 that was set to recur every 365 days from the day he completed it, and the curriculum has been changed to rollover every 730 days, the system will not look back to his completion date and change it to reflect the new curriculum changes unless the box is checked. 

 

Please Note: It is strongly recommended that you return to the Settings tab to uncheck the "Allow changes to curriculum properties to affect all enrolled Learners" box after you have made and saved changes to your curriculum. 

 

Adding or Removing Modules from a Curriculum

Any changes that are made to a module associated with a curriculum will show up for any actively enrolled Learners.  If a Learner completes all of the modules within a non-recurring currriculum, any changes to one of the modules will not appear for that Learner.  On the other hand, a Learner who has not completed the curriculum will be impacted by the changes to the curriculum.

 

If you remove a module from the curriculum, the module will be automatically removed from the profiles of all associated Learners.  Keep in mind that if the Learner has the same module assigned through a different curriculum, they will still see the module on their transcript available to take.

 

If you add a module to an existing curriculum that has Learners enrolled, you will be prompted to set a due date for the new module.  This is a one-time requirement to indicate when the module should be due for any Learners that are currently enrolled.  Modules within a recurring fixed curriculum always have a specific due date assigned and as such, the system will not prompt you with the requirement.

 

duedaterequirement.jpg

Please note:  If a module is assigned through two different curricula, the due date for the module will be the most restrictive or closest due date regardless of what is in entered in the new module initial due date section.  For example, if a module is assigned to a new curriculum with a due date of 6/1/2017, but the module also has a due date of 4/1/2017 through a different curriculum, the due date for the module will show as 4/1/2017.

 

Learners enrolled in the curriculum after you make any changes will have their due dates set by using the Default Due Date offset field.  If you wish to adjust due dates for Learners already enrolled in modules you should review the training materials on the Enrollment features.

 

Depending on your curriculum type and enrollment details, a Learner can receive credit for the new module assigned based on a prior completion.  For example, if the module added to the curriculum was completed by the Learner last month and the modified curriculum has either a reporting start date or module due date look back range of over a month ago, then the Learner will be shown as complete for the "new" module requirement.  If the reporting start date or module due date look back range is not earlier than the prior completion, the Learner will have to retake the added module.

 

Module Swap

Sometimes you want to replace a module in a curriculum with a new training, but you want to make sure that you do not disrupt the due dates already scheduled for enrolled learners.  This is the perfect place to take advantage of Relias' swap functionality.  If your organization has a training that you update every year with brand new material, and you do not want to lose the material from previous years, you create a brand new course with the updated content each year.  When you create the new module, you want to assign it to each Learner's profile, so if a Learner completed their annually recurring Corporate Compliance 2013 training in October 2013, their Corporate Compliance 2014 training will now be due in October 2014. 

 

All you have to do to easily replace one module with another is click on the "Swap" button next to the module you are replacing.  To do this, locate the module in the curriculum that you would like to replace.  Once you locate the module, click the Swap button and search for the new module.

swap.jpg

Once the new module has been chosen, the list of modules will be updated to reflect the change. 

moduleswap.jpg

If you are satisfied with the changes, click Save.  Relias will take care of the rest.  The next time a Learner logs in they will see the new module in place of the previous course with the same due date.

 

The module swap can be used for non-recurring curricula, but you should use more caution here.  The module swap feature allows you to replace one module with another without disrupting the due date, but Relias cannot apply a completion for one training to another.  If the Learner is halfway through completing his New Hire Training (i.e., it’s still active on his Current Training tab), and has completed Corporate Compliance 2013 as part of that curriculum, if you replace Corporate Compliance 2013 with the 2014 version, Relias will require the Learner to complete the Corporate Compliance 2014 although it will carry the same due date as the original course did.

 

Please Note: Curricula cannot be converted from recurring to non-recurring (or vice versa).  In addition, curricula that have Learners actively enrolled cannot be unapproved or deleted.

Please note: When editing curricula already in use (assigned to Learners), historical curriculum reports will correctly show compliance and completion data, however the modules that make up the curriculum may be different for each Learner.  For example, one Learner will show a curriculum complete and that means 4 modules while another Learner may show a completion of the same curriculum that has 5 modules, only 3 of them the same as the other Learner.  The "completion" or "compliance" with the curriculum is based on the curriculum contents at that time and can mean different things to different Learners.

 

RLMS Knowledge Base

Attachments

    Outcomes