Modifying an Existing Training Plan
There are three reasons you may want to modify a training plan: to adjust the basic training plan properties (such as due date warning period), to add or remove trainings, or to swap one module for another.
Modifying Existing Training Plan Properties
Certain training plan changes are forward-looking, which means they will not automatically affect Learners who are already enrolled into the training plan. In order for the changes you are making to affect all Learners, a setting must be enabled within your site. To enable this setting, you must be logged in as an Administrator.
Click the Settings tab on the navigation bar. This will default to the Site Properties Settings page. Scroll down to the section labeled "Miscellaneous Site Settings" and look for the "Allow changes to Training Plan properties to affect all enrolled Learners."
Check this box, and click Save at the top of the screen. This means that any changes you make to your training plans will affect all currently enrolled Learners. If this box is not checked, any changes you make to your training plans will only affect Learners who are enrolled after the changes are made.
For example, if John Doe completed a course in March 2014 that was set to recur every 365 days from the day he completed it, and the training plan has been changed to rollover every 730 days, the system will not look back to his completion date and change it to reflect the new training plan changes unless the box is checked.
Please Note: It is strongly recommended that you return to the Settings tab to uncheck the "Allow changes to training plan properties to affect all enrolled Learners" box after you have made and saved changes to your training plan.
Adding or Removing Modules from a Training Plan
Any changes that are made to a module associated with a training plan will show up for any actively enrolled Learners. If a Learner completes all of the modules within a non-recurring training plan, any changes to one of the modules will not appear for that Learner. On the other hand, a Learner who has not completed the training plan will be impacted by the changes to the training plan.
If you remove a module from the training plan, the module will be automatically removed from the profiles of all associated Learners. Keep in mind that if the Learner has the same module assigned through a different training plan, they will still see the module on their transcript available to take.
If you add a module to an existing training plan that has Learners enrolled, you will be prompted to set a due date for the new module. This is a one-time requirement to indicate when the module should be due for any Learners that are currently enrolled. Modules within a recurring fixed training plan always have a specific due date assigned and as such, the system will not prompt you with the requirement.
Please note: If a module is assigned through two different training plans, the due date for the module will be the most restrictive or closest due date regardless of what is in entered in the new module initial due date section. For example, if a module is assigned to a new training plan with a due date of 6/1/2017, but the module also has a due date of 4/1/2017 through a different training plan, the due date for the module will show as 4/1/2017.
Learners enrolled in the training plan after you make any changes will have their due dates set by using the Default Due Date offset field. If you wish to adjust due dates for Learners already enrolled in modules you should review the training materials on the Enrollment features.
Depending on your training plan type and enrollment details, a Learner can receive credit for the new module assigned based on a prior completion. For example, if the module added to the training plan was completed by the Learner last month and the modified training plan has either a reporting start date or module due date look back range of over a month ago, then the Learner will be shown as complete for the "new" module requirement. If the reporting start date or module due date look back range is not earlier than the prior completion, the Learner will have to retake the added module.
Sometimes you want to replace a module in a training plan with a new training, but you want to make sure that you do not disrupt the due dates already scheduled for enrolled learners. This is the perfect place to take advantage of Relias' swap functionality. If your organization has a training that you update every year with brand new material, and you do not want to lose the material from previous years, you create a brand new course with the updated content each year. When you create the new module, you want to assign it to each Learner's profile, so if a Learner completed their annually recurring Corporate Compliance 2013 training in October 2013, their Corporate Compliance 2014 training will now be due in October 2014.
All you have to do to easily replace one module with another is click on the "Swap" button next to the module you are replacing. To do this, locate the module in the training plan that you would like to replace. Once you locate the module, click the Swap button and search for the new module.
Once the new module has been chosen, the list of modules will be updated to reflect the change.
If you are satisfied with the changes, click Save. Relias will take care of the rest. The next time a Learner logs in they will see the new module in place of the previous course with the same due date.
The module swap can be used for non-recurring training plans, but you should use more caution here. The module swap feature allows you to replace one module with another without disrupting the due date, but Relias cannot apply a completion for one training to another. If the Learner is halfway through completing his New Hire Training (i.e., it’s still active on his Current Training tab), and has completed Corporate Compliance 2013 as part of that training plan, if you replace Corporate Compliance 2013 with the 2014 version, Relias will require the Learner to complete the Corporate Compliance 2014 although it will carry the same due date as the original course did.
Please Note: Training plans cannot be converted from recurring to non-recurring (or vice versa). In addition, training plans that have Learners actively enrolled cannot be unapproved or deleted.
Please note: When editing training plans already in use (assigned to Learners), historical training plan reports will correctly show compliance and completion data, however the modules that make up the training plan may be different for each Learner. For example, one Learner will show a training plan complete and that means 4 modules while another Learner may show a completion of the same training plan that has 5 modules, only 3 of them the same as the other Learner. The "completion" or "compliance" with the training plan is based on the training plan contents at that time and can mean different things to different Learners.